Small.

My dearest Daughter,

We took you to the Atlantic Ocean today. You splashed and swam and jumped over the waves. You screamed as seagulls chased you, wanting the popcorn in your hands. Of course you just kept running instead of dropping the popcorn — I was rolling watching it all happen as I stood in the water. We collected shells and we dug in the sand. At lunch, I asked, “What has been your favorite part so far?” and you quickly responded with, “The ocean!”. I am so thankful that you got to experience the vast open space today of the water & there is one wish I have for you, to feel so small in the grand scheme of things. Sweetheart, know that you are so big and your mind is able to change the world, but also know that you are a single person. You are small when compared to the world. So travel, my love. Realize that the Atlantic Ocean is but one part of the world that is yours to explore and yours to spread your smile to everyone who will look your way. And trust me, they’ll be looking at you bc we all know you’re cute. Know that there are busses and trains and cars and planes. Know that there is so much to see and do and explore. It is my one wish I will forever hope for. I hope you loved today, even if it meant getting sand up your butt and your mom putting on too much sunscreen. Love you, BC.

Leave a comment